I hope that you are well in these challenging times. I thought I would post an update with some ideas for support for those in school/college and students learning at home.

STEM learning has a page dedicated to home learning, www.stem.org.uk/home-learning. Everything on this page does not require registration to download materials- so can be used by parents (and students) directly. There is guidance on some of the materials on how they might be used in a home learning environment and this will be regularly updated.

After the Easter holidays, there will some remote delivery short CPD courses, which can be done flexibly. These will be at no cost and may be useful staff development for you and your team to consider. There will be offering courses across primary, secondary, technicians, leadership and post-16. These will be advertised as they go live in April.

Face to Face courses in Northern Ireland will move online, and if you have registered for these, please keep an eye out for further instructions. The course fee and the bursary will apply as before.

Current free online courses based on the FutureLearn platform are still running, so people can use these to support their own personal CPD. www.stem.org.uk/online-cpd

If you have any questions, or suggestions as to how we can further support you, schools/colleges and students, then please let me know.

Thanks again and we hope everything goes well

This week Deliberate Learning was delighted to welcome teachers from Limerick on a STEM study visit to Northern Ireland Schools. Teachers visited Antrim Primary School during STEM week and met Linda McKee, professional development leader on STEM Learning courses. They also visited St Columba’s Primary School in Draperstown which holds a Primary Science Quality Mark.

In the pictures Laura Quirke, Laura Liddy, Laura Eegan, Ciara Ryan, Suzi Tobin, Kevin Dillon, Emma Keane, Carmel O’Doherty (Director of Limerick Education Centre), Gill Humes (Deliberate Learning) and Linda McKee (Antrim Primary School).

The annual ENTHUSE Celebration Awards are a celebration of CPD across all STEM subjects.

The awards are presented each year to recognise the impact that teachers and technicians have on their students, colleagues, schools and colleges, as a result of ENTHUSE supported professional development.

Successful applicants, whether individuals or institutions, enrich STEM subjects within the institution, and extend the impact of their work into wider communities.

See the gallery of photographs from Mark Barton Photography here. Password stem2019stormont


Enthuse Award for Excellence in STEM Teaching, Post-16

Presented by David Thorpe, Chief Operating Officer, STEM Learning.

Orla Gallagher, St Columb’s College, Derry (Winner)


 Enthuse Award for School and College Leadership in STEM

Presented by Dr Donna –Marie Rogers, Public Engagement Officer, School of Medicine, Queen’s University, Belfast and Dr Jill Doherty, Business Systems Manager, RPS Engineering


  • Dr Brénainn Brunton – St Columba’s Primary School, Straw
  • Dr Caroline Greer – Bloomfield Collegiate School, Belfast (Winner)
  • Michael Allen- Lisneal College (Winner)










Enthuse Award for Excellence in STEM teaching – Primary

Presented by Maura Hughes, Primary CPD Lead


  • Marlena McCrory – Killyman Primary School, Dungannon -Winner
  • Tara Jones – Blythefield Primary School, Belfast
  • Gearóid Ó Deoráin – GaelscoilUí Dhochartaigh, Strabane
  • Claire Crory – Castlewellan Primary School, County Down










Enthuse Award for Excellence in STEM Teaching – Post-Primary

Presented by Richard Kirk, Regional Director of the Institution of Civil Engineers, Director Work +


  • Ann Livingstone- Ballymena Academy, County Antrim
  • Caroline Greer – Bloomfield Collegiate School, Belfast
  • Ryan Curry – St Patrick’s College, Dungannon (Winner)










Award for Award for Excellence in STEM Teaching – Technicians and Support Staff

Presented by Colette Goldrick, Director ABPI


  • Wilson Agnew – Belfast High School
  • Ruth Dale – Lisneal College, Derry
  • David Wilders – Strabane Academy (Winner)